Route Planner On-demand

Dispatching Orders and Routes


You learned how to dispatch orders and routes using the Map View page in a previous section. This section will cover how to dispatch orders and routes using the options available from the Deliveries option from the main menu.

To dispatch orders:

  1. From the main menu, select Deliveries > Dispatch. The Dispatch page is displayed.

  2. Select a Dispatch Preference (see Configuring Dispatch Preferences) if enabled.



    The Dispatch page provides you with the tools necessary to build and manage all orders and routes for a given delivery day. You will see two tables when navigating to the Dispatch page. The upper table contains existing routes and route templates, and the lower table contains tabs providing access to unrouted shipments, all shipments, ungeocoded customers and selected routes (based on selecting a route in the upper table).


Routing Orders

New orders, added via order entry or through the daily upload file, are displayed in the Unrouted tab. Unrouted shipments can be routed using two different methods.

To route an unrouted shipment using the Assign right-click menu option:

  1. Select the route to which the unrouted shipment is to be added.

  2. Right-click on the unrouted shipment and select Assign from the menu. The order is removed from the Unrouted section and the selected route in the Routes tab is updated with the new order.

To route multiple unrouted shipments using the Assign button:

  1. Select the route to which the unrouted shipments are to be added.

  2. Left-click on one of the unrouted shipments that should be assigned to the selected route.

  3. Hold down the Ctrl key and left click on multiple unrouted shipments for assignment.

  4. Click the icon (Assign). The shipments are removed from the Unrouted tab and the selected route in the Routes tab is updated with the new shipments in the order that they were selected.

When delivery orders are added, the system will search for potential merging positions with the order’s pickup and delivery legs. If there are multiple merging possibilities for either leg, the system will choose the last one on the route to merge. If there are no merging opportunities, then the delivery order is added to the end of a route.


Dispatching Routes

Once the orders are assigned to a route, you can view the details of the route and make any adjustments as needed.

To view details of a route:

  1. From the Deliveries - Dispatch page, select a route from the routes table.

  2. Click the Selected Route tab to display the stops on the route. To choose another route, press the Esc key and click another route.


  3. To adjust the route, right-click on the route to display the menu.

The Route menu allows you to view and edit route details. The following list provides information about the functionality provided:

  • Assign vehicle: Allows you to assign a vehicle to a route.

  • Assign driver: Allows you to assign a driver to a route.

  • Add Break Stop: Starting in version 25.01, it allows dispatch users to insert break stops directly within the Dispatch module via the route and stop context menus, similar to Map View. Supports "Personal" and "Wait" break types.

  • Sequence: Allows you to sequence the selected route interactively.

  • Set sequencing parameters: Allows you to interactively edit and save sequencing parameters to be used in the Sequence operation.

  • Map: Allows you to view a map of the route.

  • Add to Map: Allows for only selected routes to appear on the map.

  • Remove from Map: Removes the selected route from being displayed on the map.

  • Recalculate drivetimes: Forces drive times to be recalculated in the event of a manual stop resequencing or substantial change in the route, such as a changed Start or End depot.

  • Publish route to wGLN: Allows manual publishing of a route based on the wGLN, similar to the existing functionality in the Deliveries > View Routes > View Route Detail and Map View route context menus.

  • Change Delivery Day: Allows you to change the date of the delivery day.

  • View Details: Opens the Selected Route tab for the selected route.

  • Edit launch time: Allows you to modify the route's launch time. Starting in version 24.10, you can edit the route's time and date in the generated window, matching the behavior found in Map View.

  • Edit timecard: Allows you to edit timecard entries manually.

  • Edit breaks: Allows you to enter break information.

  • Edit start and end depot: Allows you to manually change the start and end depots for a delivery route.

  • Edit label: Allows you to change the route label.

  • Reverse Sequence: Sets the current order of the route in the opposite direction.

  • Unroute: Unassigns all shipments currently in the route that is selected.

  • Clone to another date: Copies the route for another delivery date.

  • Show all: Shows all Routes, not just the currently selected route.

  • Freeze/Unfreeze Route: Freezing a route prevents any manual actions on the route; all context menu options are disabled except 'Unfreeze' and 'Open on external map.'


Back to Top