When enabled by a Descartes Systems Group representative, users can set preferences on how data is to be filtered and displayed on the following pages:
Deliveries – Dispatch
Deliveries – Map View
Deliveries – View Deliveries
Deliveries – Scheduling Board
The data displayed on these pages can be filtered by either one of the following entities:
Depot
Route
Vehicle
Driver
Territory
Multiple preferences can be created for a location and visible to the user currently logged in. Client_admin user roles can create preferences and make them visible to all users if desired. All other user roles will only be able to create preferences for themselves but still be able to utilize all others that are made visible, but not able to make any modifications to them.
Creating a New Preference
The process to create a new preference is the same for the Deliveries – Dispatch, Deliveries – Map View, Deliveries – Scheduling Board and Deliveries – View Deliveries pages. For this guide, we will create a new preference for the Deliveries – Dispatch page, but will see how a new preference will appear on the other managed pages.
To create a new preference:
Go to Deliveries > Dispatch. The Dispatch Preferences page is generated and displayed. To continue to the page without using a preference, click Continue without using a preference. Click the Select available preference option to load a preference that was previously created either by you or a client_admin user role (and made available to all users). Since preferences don't exist yet, this option is disabled.
Click Create a new preference.
Enter a Preference name.
To make the preference available for all users, check off the Visible to All Users box. This checkbox is only visible to client_admin user roles.
Click Save. The page to configure the restrictions for the preference is displayed.
Select the options you want associated with the preference. You can also change its name if desired.
Click Save and Use this preference.
The following displays how the selected preferences are displayed on the Deliveries – Dispatch page.
The following displays how the preferences are displayed on the Deliveries – View Deliveries page.
On the Map View page, hover over the Dispatch Preferences icon to display the active preference.
On the Scheduling Board page, hover over the Dispatch Preferences icon to display the active preference.
Selecting a Preference
Once a preference has been created, you can select it when opening the respective page. Selecting an existing preference is the same for the Deliveries : Dispatch, Deliveries : Map View, Deliveries : Scheduling Board and Deliveries : View Deliveries pages.
To select an existing preference:
Go to Deliveries > Dispatch.
Click the Select available preference button. A list of preferences created by the user or made visible to the user by the client_admin users is displayed. If the preference has restrictions, then a Restrictions Exist link is displayed. For example, if Depots show the link, then the preference was created to only display data related to a specific depot(s). If a category (Depots, Routes, Vehicles, Drivers, or Territories) shows No restrictions, then all the data for that category is displayed.
To view the restrictions configured for a preference, click the Restrictions Exist link. A window will display the respective configured restrictions.
Click Close.
To create a new preference, click Create a new preference and follow the steps from the previous section.
To edit an existing preference, click Edit.
To delete an existing preference, click Delete. Once the preference is deleted, it is removed from the application and must be created again if needed.
To use an existing preference, click Use.